2021 ECP Annual Meeting

ECP Research Community

2021 ECP Annual Meeting

The goal of the 2021 Exacale Computing Project (ECP) Annual Meeting is to highlight technical accomplishments that are being enabled by interactions and collaborations within the ECP community, including the ECP focus areas, DOE HPC facilities, industry collaborators and participating vendors. In addition to the Keynote and Plenary Sessions, the core of the program will include BoF, Breakout, Panel, Tutorial and Poster Sessions.

Note: The meeting is open to individuals funded by ECP (research projects and vendors) and staff at DOE and the DOE HPC facilities.

Some notable ALCF meeting activities are highlighted below (Argonne staff members in bold). For more details, visit the ECP meeting website.

Monday, April 12, 2021

Intel COE Tutorial on SYCL and DPC++
Speakers: Thomas Applencourt, John Pennycook, Ramesh Peri, Michael D'Mello, Ben Odom
Time: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm (CT)

OpenMP Tutorial
Speakers: Oscar Hernandez, Dossay Oryspayev, Tom Scogland, Colleen Bertoni, Vivek Kale, Johannes Doerfert
Time: 9:00 am - 12:30 pm (CT)

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Preparing Applications for Aurora
Speakers: Scott Parker, Thomas Applencourt, Ye Luo, Brian Homerding, JaeHyuk Kwack, Yasaman Ghadar, Esteban Rangel, David Poole, Christopher Knight
Time: 12:00 - 1:30 pm (CT)

ML on Exascale Machines and the Path Beyond Exascale (AI Acceleration)
Speakers: Ian Karlin, Brian Van Essen, Venkatram Vishwanath, Jennifer Glore, Ying Wai Li
Time: 12:00 - 1:30 pm (CT)

Characterizing Performance Improvements in ECP Projects
Speakers: David Martin, Suzy Tichenor, Dave Kepczynski, Andrew Siegel, Tzanio Kolev, Jean-Luc Vay
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)

Overview of the Argonne Aurora Exascale System
Speakers: Christopher Knight, Scott Parker, Yasaman Ghadar
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)


Wednesday, April 14, 2021

DAOS for Aurora and Beyond
Speakers: Kevin Harms, Johann Lombardi, Mohammad Chaarawi
Time: 9:00 - 10:30 am (CT)

Validation, Verification and Performance Suites, Proxy Apps, and Continuous Integration for Exascale Supercomputers
Speakers: Oscar Hernandez, Swaroop Pophale, Vivek Kale, Thomas Applencourt, Vitali Morozov, Christoph Junghans, Robert Pavel, David Richards, Christopher Daley, Ryan Adamson, Nichols Romero, Reuben Budiardja, Veronica Melesse Vergara
Time: 9:00 - 10:30 am (CT)

SYCL for Exascale Platforms
Speakers: Kevin Harms, Thomas Applencourt, Yasaman Ghadar, Nevin Liber, Brandon Cook, James Brodman
Time: 9:00 - 10:30 am (CT)

Path to Exascale
Speakers: Scott Parker, Michael D'Mello
Time: 10:30 - 11:30 am (CT)

Product Lifecycle Management - An Industry Perspective
Speakers: David Martin, Suzy Tichenor, Dave Kepczynski, Kiran Kumar, Baris Guyaguler, Andrew Siegel, Michael Heroux
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)

Benefiting from ECP CI
Speakers: Paul Bryant, Ryan Adamson, Aditya Kavalur, Jeffrey Neel, Thomas Watts
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)

App integration at the Facilities: Lessons Learned So Far
Speakers: Scott Parker
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)

Performance Portability at the Intersection of the Exascale Computing Project and the DOE Centers of Excellence
Speakers: Philip Roth, Scott Parker, Hai Ah Nam, Ian Karlin, Douglas Doerfler
3:00 - 4:30 pm (CT)

Inclusive Practices and Software Productivity
Speakers: Mark Miller, Mary Ann Leung, Tony Baylis, Elaine Raybourn, Sreeranjani (Jini) Ramprakash
Time: 3:00 - 4:30 pm (CT)

Early Experience of Application Developers with OpenMP Offloading
Speakers: JaeHyuk Kwack, Thomas Applencourt, Ye Luo, Yasaman Ghadar, John Tramm, Oscar Hernandez, Christopher Daley, Rahul Gayatri, Vivek Kale, Timothy Williams, Dhruva Kulkarni, Jean-Luc Fattebert, Matthew R. Norman, Colleen Bertoni, Aaron Scheinberg, Mauro Del Ben, William Huhn, Neil Mehta, Josh Meyers, Yun He, Austin Harris, Kiran Ravikumar, Isaac Lyngaas, Barbara Chapman, Stephen Nichols, Jack Deslippe, Buu Pham, Melisa Alkan, P.K. Yeung, Xingqiu Yuan, Reuben Budiardja
Time: 3:00 - 4:30 pm (CT)

Lattice QCD: Advances in Software Portability and Algorithm Development
Speakers: Chulwoo Jung, Evan Weinberg, James Osborn, Balint Joo
Time: 3:00 - 4:30 pm (CT)

Integrating Workflows Across Facilities: Progress, Plans and User Engagement
Speakers: Tom Uram, Johannes Blaschke, Suha Somnaths, Shane Canon, Arjun Shankar, Sean Wilkinson, Deborah Bard, Katerina Antypas, Bjoern Enders
Time: 3:00 - 4:30 pm (CT)

Spack E4S Facility Pipeline Update
Speakers: Aditya Kavalur, Jamie Finney, Matt Belhorn, Shahzeb Siddiqui, Frank Willmore
Time: 3:00 - 4:00 pm (CT)

Tracing Heterogeneous APIs (OpenCL, L0, CUDA) in a Nutshell: Billions of Events with Low Overhead
Speakers: Thomas Applencourt, Brice Videau
Time: 4:00 - 5:00 pm (CT)


Thursday, April 15, 2021

Data Science and Machine Learning for Scientific Discovery on Aurora
Speakers: Venkatram Vishwanath, Timothy Williams, Corey Adams, Bethany Lusch, Tom Uram, Taylor Childers, Murali Emani, Huihuo Zheng, Misha Salim, Prasanna Balaprakash, Filippo Simini
Time: 12:00 - 1:30 pm (CT)

OpenMP Roadmap for Accelerators Across DOE Pre-Exascale/Exascale Machines
Speakers: JaeHyuk Kwack, Johannes Doerfert, Xinmin Tian, Ron Lieberman, Jeff Sandoval, Timothy Costa, Kalyan Kumaran, Colleen Bertoni, Tobias Burnus, Christopher Daley, Oscar Hernandez, Hai Ah Nam, Bronis de Supinski, Stephen Olivier, Barbara Chapman, Vivek Kale, Thomas Applencourt, Ye Luo, Michael Kruse, Catherine Moore, Wael Elwasif, Jeff Larkin, Deepak Eachempati
Time: 12:00 - 1:30 pm (CT)

E4S For All
Speakers: David Martin, Suzy Tichenor, Michael Heroux, Sameer Shende, Jon Rood
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)

Interpreting Darshan Logs
Speakers: Shane Snyder, Kevin Harms, Rob Latham, Rob Ross, Philip Carns
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)

The Programming Environments Landscape at the ASCR Facilities
Speakers: David Bernholdt, Scott Parker, Jack Deslippe
Time: 1:30 - 2:30 pm (CT)


Friday, April 16, 2021

Using Parallel HDF5 Efficiently on HPC Systems
Speakers: Quincey Koziol, Scot Breitenfeld, Gerd Heber, Huihuo Zheng, Houjun Tang, Elena Pourmal, Suren Byna
Time: 9:00 am - 12:30 pm (CT)

Performance Tuning with the Roofline Model on GPUs and CPUs
Speakers: Samuel Williams, Jonathan Madsen, JaeHyuk Kwack, Christopher Knight, Khaled Ibrahim
Time: 1:30 - 5:00 pm (CT)

ECP CI Startup Tutorial
Speakers: Paul Bryant, Fauzi Gomez, Aditya Kavalur, Mark Miller, Ryan Prout
Time: 1:30 - 5:00 pm (CT)

Ytopt/SuRF: Machine-Learning-Based Search for Autotuning
Speakers: Prasanna Balaprakash, Jaehoon Koo, Xingfu Wu, Michael Kruse, Paul Hovland, Johannes Doerfort, Brice Videau, Mary Hall
Time: 3:30 - 5:00 pm (CT)