Extreme Scaling and Performance across Diverse Architectures

Start Date: 
Mar 31 2015 - 11:00am
Building/Room: 
Online Webinar
Speaker(s): 
Salman Habib (Argonne National Laboratory; University of Chicago)
Rajeev Thakur (Argonne National Laboratory; SIGHPC)

This webinar will provide an introduction to basic issues in performance and scalability for large-scale applications on parallel supercomputers. If you haven't done so already, register today.

Because future supercomputing architectures–leading up to exascale–will follow diverse paths, it is important to articulate principles for designing applications that can run at extreme scale and high performance on a variety of systems. It is unlikely that, in the near term, automated solutions can provide more than incremental improvements, although this remains an important research direction. Given this situation, it is important, when developing new applications, to be cognizant of future hardware possibilities and to follow a design approach that allows for rapid deployment and optimization, including the use of multiple algorithms targeted to different architectures. This approach will be presented using a concrete example, the Hardware/Hybrid Accelerated Cosmology Code (HACC) framework. HACC runs efficiently on all current supercomputer architectures and scales to the largest of today’s systems.

WHAT ATTENDEES CAN EXPECT TO LEARN:

 *   Why code "ports" are difficult across architectures, if performance is a major criterion
 *   Differences in future architectures and what they mean for code design and optimization
 *   The key role played by understanding of the domain science as well as the algorithmic implementation
 *   The importance of layering the code to allow for easy implementation across architectures

Duration: 60 minutes (including audience Q&A)

 

Miscellaneous Information: 

The webinar will be presented on Tuesday, March 31, 2015 at 11 am CT (12 pm ET; 10 am MT; 9 am PT; 5 pm GMT)