DOE’s ALCC program awards ALCF computing time to 16 projects

2022-2023 ALCC Awards

The 2022-2023 ALCC projects will use ALCF's Theta and Polaris supercomputers to pursue advances in science and engineering.

The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) Leadership Computing Challenge (ALCC) has awarded supercomputing time at the Argonne Leadership Computing Facility (ALCF) to 16 projects that will pursue advances in areas ranging from battery research to climate modeling to fusion energy.

Each year, the ASCR program, which manages some of the world’s most powerful supercomputing facilities, selects ALCC projects in areas that aim to further DOE mission science and broaden the community of researchers capable of using leadership computing resources.

The ALCC program allocates computational resources at ASCR’s supercomputing facilities to research scientists in industry, academia, and national laboratories. In addition to the ALCF located at DOE’s Argonne National Laboratory, ASCR’s supercomputing facilities include the Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facility (OLCF) at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. The ALCF, OLCF, and NERSC are DOE Office of Science user facilities.

The 16 projects awarded time on the ALCF’s Theta and Polaris systems are listed below. Some projects received additional computing time at OLCF and/or NERSC. The one-year awards begin July 1.

  • Robert Edwards from Jefferson Laboratory received 300,000 node-hours on Polaris for “The Spectrum and Structure of Hadrons.”
  • Frederico Fiuza from SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory received 860,000 node-hours on Theta for “Energy Partition and Particle Acceleration in Laboratory Magnetized Shocks.”
  • Feliciano Giustino from University of Texas at Austin received 883,000 node-hours on Theta for “Computational Design of Novel Semiconductors for Power and Energy Applications.”
  • Steven Gottlieb from Indiana University received 100,000 node-hours on Polaris for “High Precision Hadronic Vacuum Polarization Contribution to the Muon Anomalous Magnetic Moment using Highly Improved Staggered Quarks.”
  • Wei Jiang from Argonne National Laboratory received 500,000 node-hours on Theta for “Microscopic Insight into Transport Properties of Li-Battery Electrolytes.”
  • George Karniadakis from Brown University received 50,000 node-hours on Polaris for “A Multiscale Surrogate Model for Fracture Evolution Using DeepONet.”
  • Zarija Lukic from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory received 100,000 node-hours on Polaris for “Cosmological Hydro Simulations to Explore the High and Low-Redshift Universe.”
  • Jaeyoung Park from TAE Technologies received 400,000 node-hours on Theta for “Particle-in-Cell Simulations of Beam-Driven, Field-Reversed Configuration Plasmas.”
  • Ivan Oleynik from University of South Florida received 150,000 node-hours on Polaris for “Predictive Simulations of Inertial Confinement Fusion Ablator Materials.”
  • Jonathan Ozik from Argonne National Laboratory received 283,000 node-hours on Theta for “Probabilistic Comparative Modeling of Colorectal Cancer Screening Strategies.”
  • Emilian Popov from Oak Ridge National Laboratory received 224,000 node-hours on Theta for “HFIR DNS Simulations.”
  • Sara Pryor from Cornell University received 142,000 node-hours on Theta for “Modeling Operating Conditions in the U.S. East Coast Offshore Wind Energy Lease Areas.”
  • Noemi Rocco from Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory received 730,000 node-hours on Theta for “Short Range Correlations from a Quantum Monte Carlo Perspective.”
  • Dillon Shaver from Argonne National Laboratory received 400,000 node-hours on Theta and 100,000 node-hours on Polaris for “High-Fidelity CFD Simulations for Next-Generation Nuclear Reactor Designs.”
  • Paul Ullrich from University of California, Davis received 900,000 node-hours on Theta for “A Climate Model Ensemble for Understanding Future Changes to Extreme Weather.”
  • Yiqi Yu from Argonne National Laboratory received 600,000 node-hours on Theta for “Investigation of Flow and Heat Transfer Behavior in Involute Plate Research Reactor with Large Eddy Simulation to Support the Conversion of Research Reactors to Low Enriched Uranium Fuel.”


The Argonne Leadership Computing Facility provides supercomputing capabilities to the scientific and engineering community to advance fundamental discovery and understanding in a broad range of disciplines. Supported by the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Office of Science, Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) program, the ALCF is one of two DOE Leadership Computing Facilities in the nation dedicated to open science.

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation's first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America's scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science.

The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit